Why Do Offices Have Apples?

I do not know if it is just a rare coincidence or a case of serendipity for some of the offices I have worked before. I always see apples in the lobby, kitchen, dining room and some conference rooms. I thought companies like apples to be a decoration or a sign of good luck because of its round shape and lively color. Of all fruits, I wonder why these red apples have taken center stage compared to other fruits like bananas, oranges, grapes and a lot more.

My friend then told me to ask my boss about it since he’s been in the office for more than a decade. I casually ask him about the apples and its relativity to office decorations, norms or whatsoever. Call me dumb but I haven’t thought of the simple adage we have believed in for many years.

“Do you know the famous saying about apples?”, he said. “An apple a day keeps the doctor away,” I said. My boss is not even laughing but I laughed at that thought. Yep, that is the reason why many offices have apples in sight! Our refrigerator is filled with apples, all red apples!!! In the first two weeks, I have myself munching these reds as a snack until I got sick of it. But seriously, apples have lots of health benefits which would result to fewer absences and sick leaves. So, if you do not eat your apple, your boss can blame you why you got sick. And, if you plan to have an under time because you feel sick and tired, he will accused you that you haven’t eaten your apples!

To know more about the benefits of eating apples, see http://www.besthealthmag.ca/eat-well/nutrition/15-health-benefits-of-eating-apples.

<3/tll>

Leave a Reply

