Morton’s Fork: Read or Write?

If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

What if an idea pops into my head and it presents itself to me? I blog. I want the whole world to know about it. But, in order to write, we have to read and have our reading fix — be it magazines, news on the net/paper, blogs, etc. This is the start or the evolution, as others call it. In order to write, we have to learn how to read first. That is a known fact backed up by science and research.

And, here’s my realization…

I am a lurker. Thus, the lurker’s list (https://thelurkerslist.wordpress.com) was created. As much as I love writing, I also love reading other blogs. I like to observe. I like to watch. I love to see what is happening. I enjoy being that way. I enjoy myself as a lurker. Just lurking around.

Just r-e-a-d-i-n-g. Reading is my hobby that is equivalent to the “coffee fix” that the others are having every morning. After all, if I wanted to write, I can just pour everything on my diary and do the writing exercise using my hands. That seems more artsy and interesting to me. 🙂

Leave a comment