What is a Good Leader?

In response to the Daily Prompt: The Clock.

That question is the one question I always ask whenever I transfer from one organization/company to another. Also, while writing this post, I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. Oh, I have a deadline today! What really slammed (not the car door, obviously) was his voice asking me to submit the document he asked me to edit, fifteen minutes ago! Wow, am I that fast and he’s asking for it in an instant? What about him, this so-called leader who intently looks at us one by one? Is he doing his work or just plainly acting that he’s so damn busy?

Note: This article is created not for scrutiny but mainly for observation and reflection.

I don’t know how am I going to start this article without sounding emotional or bitter. I admit, I am not good at concealing my feelings and my thoughts. When I am mad, sad or pissed,it just shows even if sometimes I dare hide it. Am I setting a good example to my readers by revealing who am I really with these mere words? Pardon me if I may sound harsh with the succeeding lines that you will be reading. But, this is just me, being real and nothing more.

It just pisses me off how one person, who is a boss or a leader for that matter is not setting a good example. Come on, what’s the point of being a superior if you cannot be a good example yourself? Being someone who is an authority means that you are taking responsibility. Not every person gets the chance to be a leader, a superior or a higher-up, and when someone gets the chance to be one, the essence just fades. It fades because the term “leader” is not even given any justice at all. It remains as a plain, dull word that is not given any substance or meaning per se, which would just insult the definitions on any existing dictionary.

I am not an authority to say and elaborate these things but being a follower, I have carefully observed the people I am interacting with, especially friends and colleagues. We all learn from the people we meet in life, no matter how trivial the time we spent with them. Some made us smile, mad, inspired and motivated us but what remains remarkable, in my opinion — are the people who can lead and make a good impact in other people’s lives.

Listed are my top three (3) opinions on what makes a good leader:

  • A true leader knows how to communicate with his people. He listens and knows how to empathize with his people.
  • A good leader knows how to respect his people, accept them as they are and reveal them their potentials.
  • Most importantly, a leader sets a good example for others to follow. He walks his talk. What he preaches, he religiously do and leaves a legacy long after he is gone.

Let me know what sets a good leader apart from the rest. Please comment and suggest. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “What is a Good Leader?

Leave a Reply

