Dystopia of Expectations

In response to Weekly Writing Challenge: Dystopia.

~ I have learned that not every person I meet deserve my kindness, not every person deserves a second chance and not every person is nice. – Lurker’s Tidbits of Learning

I do not generalize but I have observed that most of the things I have done for the significant people in my life is not reciprocated with love, effort and the amount that I expect them to reciprocate. So, what’s the wrong part with me even if I have given my all? It is because I expect. I expect too much — that I feel they should somehow appreciate what I have given.

The thing is, I should not expect at all because it is useless. When we expect, it is also like telling them subtly that there is an exchange for what we have given. When we help a person, when we give something to them, when we love them and when we risk our hearts getting broken again, we should just not expect at all. I think things would have been easier back then if I learned not to be tied up with my expectations.

Now, I guess I have learned the hard way. I hope you don’t so please do not expect. Love. Live. Give. Without Any Expectation. Let us create our own utopia, a world without boundaries, a world filled with love, abundance and most of all, acceptance. We must learn to accept that people might not be able to reciprocate. Take me or not, leave me or not, it is your choice. I am just glad that for the nth time I have embraced vulnerability at all costs.

Yes, I will never expect again. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Dystopia of Expectations

Leave a Reply

