Freedom

Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster

Freedom

In my heart, I am not free.

But my amygdala tells me I am.

The haiku explains how free I am even if in my heart, I feel I am jaded and not free. In case you wonder, the amygdala is a part of our brain which controls our emotions. Logically, the brain is above the head which means that it must be used first whenever we make tough decisions.

Note: Using our hearts when coming up with a decision is also good but that is another topic. Let’s jut say that I use my head more, after experiencing some traumas. Tsk, tsk, tsk. 😀

I never had issues with myself being lost but a part of me is somehow envious of my once old self. I was once a carefree individual, whose heart is  gigantic, that even a universe can fit in. I do not care what would happen later or tomorrow because I only cared what I would be doing during the present time. If many people would only care more about the present and the more sensible things, imagine how less complicated life would be.

Nowadays, I am more stressed and worried about what would happen in the future. But then, I realized that worrying does not solve the problem and does not improve and make me a better person. Thus, I would use my head so I won’t get envious or jealous of my once old self.  This is still me but better, tougher and hopefully, wiser. Talk about empowerment and mind control. It goes to show how powerful and influential our minds can be.

Okay, no more drama. I have had enough.  I just have to constantly tell myself that I can be free. At the back of my mind, I know I can do this because my amygdala tells me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

