Becoming A Minimalist

Less is more. So this year, I want to try to become a minimalist, a certain note higher than my old minimalist self. And because I am my own guinea pig, I would want to see for myself if being a minimalist (a notch higher) would do me more good than harm. When I am climbing mountains, I only carry things that I need so my pack won’t be as much heavy. It gets heavier when tiredness sinks in.

Compared to most people, you could say that I own less stuff except for the gifts I send back home. I tend to hoard stuff to be given to loved ones. I’d put it all in a big box then I send the box home. This is cheaper than having the items checked in at the airport come departure time. I wonder if I could do with less waterproof and Badtz this year. But iTunes? I don’t think so. It’s just great that I have a terabyte hard disk and a cloud somewhere.

Listed are the advantages of being a minimalist:

Note: Ditch what is not applicable to you.

1. Ask yourself if there is a need to buy the item. If you are not going to use it more often and it is not a necessity, forget it.

2. If you are a lazy bloke like me and you are not fond of arranging things, having less stuff is easier. It would be easy to just clean the little stuff you have and your place would not be that messy. For reading materials, have a reading app (Zinio,Kobo, Google Play, etc.) on your phone/tablet or own a Kindle.

3. Buying less stuff would save you more money. Because of this, you could buy a sensible item or a coveted one that you’ve been eyeing for the longest time. Β If your budget permits, buy something that is durable so it would last for a very long time. Therefore, it would save you more bucks.Β Although for collectors, I know this is not applicable.

4. Because you only have things that you need, you would be sure that each item will serve its purpose very well. The item will be very useful until it gets old and damaged. Let us learn to recycle as much as possible.

5. There will be less worry about losing and finding stuff. After all, less is more.

I guess I am just fortunate that I collect and create moments. My mind is my repository, a vast space with an unlimited storage capacity. Further, we could also own a minimalist’s mind. Get rid of unwanted and bad thoughts and focus on the good ones. As with any problem, we are allowed to think of our problems only if we are also thinking about the solutions. Is this a great way to start the year? What do you think? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

