Goodbye Umami

When the world began, many senses of taste were born. Among the most distinct of all the senses of taste are these four: sweet, salty, sour and bitter — and then umami came.* What if the umami has not been discovered? What should we call this sense of taste that is good but hard to explain? If someone came up with the term umami, we can also come up with another sense of taste that we recognize! 

If there’s a taste that I can bid farewell to, that would be umami. I can’t say goodbye to the bittersweet taste of dark chocolate, the delicious sour taste of green grapes, the spicy kick of tom yum soup and the irresistible salty taste of bacon! Have I known umami or not, I am okay with the four basic senses of taste. Don’t get me wrong though, I am happy that umami has been discovered but I can live without it.

Note: This is a story I just created. Information may not be correct because I made this up according to what I know at the moment.

* Daily Prompt: Picky Tongues

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Umami

Leave a Reply

