I’m Broke But I’m Not Broken

Yep, you read that right. I am broke but I am not broken. I am broke in the financial sense of the word. Though I am born with food, shelter and clothing, I am broke but I must say I am still lucky. Oh, by the way, I am living on a day to day or week by week basis. I would find ways to earn just so my family and I can eat for a day or a week. It seems abnormal to me before until this abnormal thing became the most normal thing to me now.

I am lucky enough to be still breathing up to this day, as cliché as that may sound. For many years, I’m finding it hard to make ends meet. I am not saying this for you to pity me but I am inspiring you that broke people can be happy. Broke people are just broke and that’s just it. It took me years of practice to train my mind not to get affected by shitty people, unfathomable government, bad economy or whatever the fuck you want to name it.

It all boils down to our philosophy and the way we perceive things. The way we react to what happens to us is of paramount importance, too. Case in point, bad things happen mostly because we allow them to happen. Though at times it is not our fault, it is still our fault if we let the odds or the stress affect us. And, that’s the same with money. Yes, we are broke but we can just thicken our face and tell ourselves that this stage will soon be over. We can make it because we really can make it. We can do this because keeping our heads above the water is the only option there is.

It is not wishful thinking to be thinking this way. It’s just my way of thinking that I always tell myself that I will survive. I have to because I have a family to feed aside from the anaconda in my belly. It came to a point where I don’t want to eat anymore because I will end up hungry anyway. I bet many people can relate to this esp. the ones who live in a third world country. I am with all these people who live for their families, who still choose to live even if they don’t want to, who choose to work tirelessly and who choose to keep breathing until they reach their dreams.

To you reading this, if you are not broke, congratulations. You are one of the luckiest people in the world and I hope you share that “luck” if you ever believe in luck but I know that you know what I mean.

To the peeps who are like me, well, being broke rocks. Being broke sucks but then again, we always survive. So I guess, we can say that we too, are one of the luckiest people in the world. 😀

Leave a comment