Smile. Learn. Live

In response to Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees.

I am just reminding myself that  there are still lots of reasons to smile amidst all the eccentricities and chaos in this world. If you are experiencing some drama, melancholy or adversity, you could still consider yourself lucky. You are still alive and actually reading this cliché.

When we are young, it looks like getting old is too farfetched. When we are in our 20s, it seems that being in our 30s feel like more than a decade. But in reality, when you are 30 (and above) it seems like being 20 is just so yesterday. Then, we’d be in our 50s and say, oh I miss my childhood days. Time flies by so fast. Now, I have proven myself that life is indeed short. I used to think back then that life is long and that I have all the time in the world to do what I want. I am so wrong. Can we just do the things we have put off doing? Again, life is short.

Realization: There is also no use to dread the fact that we are older. Getting old is never an issue. We do get old once we stop learning. I do not want to be dormant because I am not a volcano or a dying bank account. I just smile at the thought of these things and at the random learning and reflections everyday. This realization may be simple but I should have realized this ages ago. Hmmm….

Conclusion: Shit happens and I would endlessly rant about it. Suddenly, I just stopped. I am breaking the habit of complaining. Did complaining help me solve my problems? No. Did it help solving at least 1% of the problems of the world? Hell no, not even a fraction of it. Can I stop? I can and I am trying, which led me to start this 21-day habit challenge (be patient and nice). Some say it is not that effective but I want to see for myself if I can make it. I am up to the challenge. Whether or not this is successful, I would still try to become better or should I say, become the best possible me. One life means one shot which would literally mean ‘one chance.’

Am I losing it this time? I hope not because my only option is to live a life that I can call my life — a life on my own terms. Is this my 180° turning point?Well, I would like to think it is — I am on my 179° now and constantly tilting.

Action Item: After dying some time, this is my chance to really LIVE. Thus, I will be on my 180°. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Smile. Learn. Live

  1. I am still alive? thank you for reminding me 😉 I need that! Anyhoo, I’m a little late in this topic but wanted to throw my two bits all the same – hope you can stop by my place soon. cheers!

Leave a comment